vai al contenuto della pagina vai al menu di navigazione

The Magna Charta Universitatum

The Magna Charta Universitatum is a document that was signed by 388 rectors and heads of universities from all over Europe and beyond on 18 September 1988, the 900th anniversary of the University of Bologna.

It contains principles of academic freedom and institutional autonomy as a guideline for good governance and self-understanding of universities in the future.

Academic freedom is the foundation for the independent search for truth and a barrier against undue intervention for both government and interest groups.

Institutional autonomy is a prerequisite for the effective and efficient operations of modern universities.

It also underlies the unique constellation of study, teaching and research, as represented by the European university for the last millennium, and must be further developed without abandoning these universal principles.

The universities now refer to this text as the standard of their belonging to an international community sharing the same academic values and purposes.

The Magna Charta Universitatum
Read the Magna Charta Universitatum in the 49 languages of the signatory Universities

Signatory Universities
The Magna Charta Universitatum has been signed by 816 Universities from 86 Countries